TXMMA – Texas Mixed Martial Arts

24/7: Self Made Results – “Sunshine” Robinson wins lightweight title; Bruno Bastos loses by TKO in Texas MMA Debut

Clayton Robinson w/ coach Sayif Saud | photo: Hannah Michelle

ODESSA, TX, October 22, 2012 – It was an exciting and somewhat surprising night of action at the Far West Events Center this past Saturday night as Fabian Butler’s Twenty Four Seven Entertainment put on their latest show, entitled 24/7: Self Made.

This event marked the fifth event put on by the West Texas-based 24/7 organization and it was one of their most evenly-matched as well with plenty of close matches on the eight fight card.

In the headlining title fight of the evening, Octagon MMA’s Clayton “Sunshine” Robinson was able to secure the 24/7 lightweight title with a TKO win over Abilene’s Mitchell Hale. Robinson now brings his winning streak up to three in a row and he seems to be rolling since moving to Dallas to train with Sayif Saud and crew, including a win over recent XKO title winner Donnie Bell at the last Legacy FC show in Dallas. Sunshine is definitely a prospect to watch out for when it comes to up-and-coming fighters statewide.

In somewhat of a surprise considering how highly-thought of he is in grappling circles, Nova Uniao’s Bruno Bastos fell short in his initial Texas MMA bid by TKO to El Paso’s Ricky McCall. As expect, Bruno tried to use his grappling acumen to win this fight but McCall would answer with some aggressive striking, eventually overtaking the tiring Brazilian by the third round to bring his record to an unblemished 3-0.

Elsewhere on the card, Zach Haney and Jon Cook picked up some impressive finishes with Haney scoring a submission over Victor Hernandez in the first round of their matchup while Cook finished Doug Andrade by TKO in round 2 of their contest.

Below are the rest of the results from this past Saturday in Odessa.


24/7: Self Made – Quick Results


Clayton Robinson over Mitchell Hale by TKO, RD2

Ricky McCall over Bruno Bastos by TKO, RD3

Zach Haney over Victor Hernandez by submission (armbar), RD1

Jon Cook over Doug Andrade by TKO, RD2

Brian Joseph over Bobby Huron by split decision

Luan Carvalho over Brian Castillo by unanimous decision

John King over Gabe Garcia by split decision

Armando Garcia over Daniel Perez by split decision.