TXMMA – Texas Mixed Martial Arts

SETX – ‘Texas Pride’ Pro MMA Results from Beaumont

By TXMMA Staff


Cody Williams wins third straight; Ryan Spann stays undefeated at Texas Pride Pro MMA


BEAUMONT, TX, September 30, 2013 – Pro MMA was on tap in Southeast Texas this past Saturday night as Noe Beltran and crew presented Texas Pride Pro MMA to SETX fight fans at the Montagne Center in Beaumont.

The show was headlined by homegrown SETX talent Cody “Wolverine” Williams (7-4, ATT Beaumont) who faced off against previously undefeated prospect Brandon Ruiz. The latter showed grit in this one and will certainly be a prospect to watch himself down the road as he develops but the September 28th main event went to Williams who was able to follow up his upset submission win over nogi world champion Brandon Mullins at a NAGA grappling tournament with a submission win in his latest MMA fight versus Ruiz.

With this win Williams now wins his third straight and is one step closer to getting back to the bigger shows ala Legacy FC. He’d previously been at that level just as recently as November 2012 but two straight losses against top competition (Thomas Almeida, Steven Peterson) set him back just a little bit. Now 7-4 and as exciting as he’s always been, it would definitely be exciting to see him up against some guys also looking to rise back up; someone like Angel Huerta comes to mind as a good opponent for Williams.

Back to Texas Pride, another fighter who impressed comes from the same camp as Williams in his teammate Ryan Spann. The 6’5” tall “Superman” Spann didn’t waste any time in his bout versus opponent Jhonoven Pati, locking up a standing guillotine in the first frame to win his fourth straight as a pro, all by submission. Certainly an impressive start in the pro ranks so far for the 22 year old Southeast Texan so he’s also another fighter worth keeping an eye on for the near future.

See complete results for Texas Pride Pro MMA below.


Texas Pride Pro MMA Results – October 28, 2012 in Beaumont, TX


Cody Williams (7-4) over Brandon Ruiz (3-1) by submission (armbar), RD1

Ryan Spann (4-0) over Jhonoven Pati (5-1) by submission (standing guillotine), RD1

Jose Ceja (2-0) over Justin Salinas (0-1) by unanimous decision (30-27 x3)

Ray Rodriguez (5-3) over Martin Walker (0-2) by TKO. RD2

Alex Hernandez (3-1) over Joel Scott (0-1) by unanimous decision (30-27 x3)

Mark Garcia (3-6) over Devin Christopherson (2-1) by submission (triangle choke), RD1

Billy Buch (4-2) over David Salazar (1-3) by SUB (triangle choke), RD1

Gerardo Botello (1-3) over Will Spidle (0-2) by unanimous decision (29-28, x3)

Ray Banda (2-0) over Jose Cabral (1-4) by split decision (29-28 x2)