TXMMA – Texas Mixed Martial Arts

Weekend Roundup: UFC 190, WSOF 22, Ambition IV, etc. (Results)

By TXMMA Staff


Rousey and Palhares make international headlines; Narvaez, Mendez, etc. win closer to home


August 4, 2015 – UFC bantamweight champion Ronday Rousey was dominant this past weekend as she dispatched outspoken challenger Bethe Correa at UFC 190 in Rio de Janiero, Brazil. While that was going on, Rousimar Palhares became the first person to ever tap Jake Shields at WSOF 22 in Las Vegas. He retained his title but lost his win bonus after holding on to another sub too long to cause yet another controversy.

Meanwhile, back home in Texas, there were other cards going on as well.

Competing as part of Rod Green’s Ambition IV event taking place down in Victoria, FCFA’s Brandi Narvaez brought her record up to 2-0 and won her first amateur title belt in the process following a 3 round victory over Stacy Silva. The wife of UFC fighter Roger Narvaez, Brandi has been competing for quite a while as a grappler but stepped into the cage for the first time in Dec. 2014. Judging by the results this past weekend, it looks like she might be here to stay.

In other action at Ambition IV, 22 year old John Herrera brought his own record up to 3-0 as he won his own belt in the lightweight division over Ryan Lara who now drops to 3-1. Also winning in title action was bantamweight Alejandro Rodriguez (2-1). He earned his belt by defeating Christopher Garcia via kimura in the first round of their fight.

Elsewhere around the state, Fabian Mendez defeated Clarence Brown by unanimous decision to earn the 155 title at the Texas Clash Bash event in Robstown. Word is that it was a close fight but it was the 19 year old out of Mendez Martial Arts in Corpus Christi going home with the belt at the end of the night.

Check out complete results from all the relevant action from this past weekend below:


Ambition IV – Quick Results from July 31, 2015 (Victoria, TX)

  • Brandi Narvaez def. Stacy Silva by Unanimous Decision * 120 TITLE
  • John Herrera def. Ryan Lara by KO, RD2 * 155 TITLE
  • Alejandro Rodriguez def. Christopher Garcia by Submission (kimura), RD1 * 135 TITLE
  • Brandon Evans def. Gilbert Vela by TKO, RD2
  • Walter Krauser def. Christopher Berry by Split Decision
  • Tenika Waldroup def. Carly Cavazos by Submission (RNC), RD2
  • Paul Gonzales def. Luke Scott by TKO, RD1
  • Coby Moulder def. Daniel Owens by Submission (RNC), RD2
  • Pete Hererra def. Peter Morales by Submission (armbar), RD1
  • Joseph Aguilar def. Eddie Ortiz by Submission (RNC), RD1


Texas Clash Bash – Quick Results from August 1, 2015 (Robstown, TX)

  • Fabian Mendez def. Clarence Brown by Unanimous Decision * 155 TITLE
  • Moises Murillo def. Eric Wooding by Submission, RD1
  • Jacob Landin def. Manuel Hernandez by Submission, RD3
  • Tristan Longoria def. Jason Delagarza by TKO, RD2
  • Silverio Hernandez def. Jerrick Warden by TKO, RD1
  • Camilo Rodriguez def. Javier Salinas by Unanimous Decision


UFC 190 – Quick Results from August 1, 2015 (Rio de Janeiro, Brazil)

  • Ronda Rousey def. Bethe Correiaby KO, RD1
  • Mauricio Rua def. Antonio Rogerio Nogueira by unanimous decision
  • Glaico Franca def. Fernando Bruno by submission, RD3
  • Reginaldo Vieira def. Dileno Lopes by unanimous decision
  • Stefan Struve def. Antonio Rodrigo Nogueira by unanimous decision
  • Antonio Silva def. Soa Palelei by TKO, RD2
  • Claudia Gadelha def. Jessica Aguilar by unanimous decision
  • Demian Maia def. Neil Magny, submission, RD2
  • Patrick Cummins def. Rafael Cavalcante by TKO, RD3
  • Warlley Alves def. Nordine Taleb by submission, RD2
  • Iuri Alcantara def. Leandro Issa by unanimous decision
  • Vitor Miranda def. Clint Hester by TKO, RD2
  • Guido Cannetti def. Hugo Viana by unanimous decision


WSOF 22 – Quick Results from August 1, 2015 (Las Vegas, NV)

  • Rousimar Palhares def. Jake Shields by submission (kimura), RD3 (170 TITLE)
  • Moraes def. Sheymon Moraes by submission (RNC), RD3 (135 TITLE)
  • Clifford Starks def. Mike Kyle by unanimous decision
  • Abubakar Nurmagomedov def. Jorge Moreno by unanimous decision
  • Islam Mamedov def. Jimmy Spicuzza by TKO, RD1
  • Jake Heun def. Davin Clark by submission (arm triangle), RD3
  • Donavon Frelow def. Carlos Garcia by submission (guillotine), RD1
  • Marco Simmons def. Jimmy Jones by submission (RNC), RD2
  • Cory Hendricks def. Julio Hinojosa by submission (guillotine), RD1
  • Gil Guardado def. Pete Martin via submission (guillotine), RD1