TXMMA – Texas Mixed Martial Arts

XKO 21 Results and Photos: Big submission wins in Arlington

By TXMMA Staff


Chris Pecero and Josh Foster wins by submission; Cody Walker scores upset sub of his own vs. Stephen Banaszak


ARLINGTON, TX, January 19, 2014 – Xtreme Knockout held their first event of the year at XKO arena last night. XKO 21 was headlined by Corpus Christi’s Chris Pecero taking on DFW rep Javier Obregon with eight fights over all on the fight card. More of a striker by reputation, one could have expected Chris Pecero to try and mix it up on his feet versus the Obregon but he elected to show off more of his well-rounded skillset in the main event, winning by armbar submission for the first time since 2010 to move to 11-5 overall.

© Charles Nguyen, TXMMA.com, 2001-2013Also winning by armbar was Longview’s Josh Foster. He overcame a vicious initial onslaught from Allen Nelson to win their XKO 21 co-main event fight. Foster now moves to 8-4 as a pro after picking up his fourth win out of his last five tries. Meanwhile Nelson notches his first loss as a pro but gets a chance to get this one back pretty soon with his next scheduled bout against Evan Thompson at Legacy FC 28 next month also in Arlington.

One more fight of note ended stunningly with Next Generation’s “Crow” Cody Walker picking up a quick submission win over highly-regarded Stephen Banaszak. It took but 32 seconds for this one to be over with Walker grabbing the guillotine after some successful moments on his feet. Cody now moves to 3-1 as a pro while Banaszak drops to 2-2.

Check out complete results and photos from this XKO 21 below.


Official Xtreme Knockout 21 (XKO 29) –  Quick Results

  • Chris Pecero over Javier Obregon by submission (armbar), RD1
  • Josh Foster over Allen Nelson by submission (armbar), RD1
  • Cody Walker over Stephen Banaszak by submission (guillotine), RD1,  0:32
  • Moises Diaz over Andrew Sosa by submission (guillotine), RD1
  • Kashiff Solarin over Kyle Hessler by split decision. (29-28, 30-27, 28-29)
  • Edgar Verdin over Jeremiah O’Neal by TKO. RD1
  • Aaron Culpepper over Brian Cheatham by unanimous decision (30-27, 30-27, 30-27)
  • Eugene Davis over Ramon Jackson by unanimous decision (30-27, 30-27,29-28)


XKO 21 Event Photos – Exclusive TXMMA.com Gallery